World Cup

White Ferns to host England and Australia for limited-overs tours

The White Ferns are all set to host England and Australia for a series of ODIs and T20Is in February and March 2021.

The women’s international schedule for 2021 will kick off with England tour of New Zealand, which begins on 23 February. Reigning ICC Women’s World Cup champions England will arrive in New Zealand on 26 January for the 14-day mandatory quarantine, following which, they will travel to Queenstown for a nine-day training camp.

The training schedule will also include two warm-up games at the John Davies Oval on 14 and 16 February.

Less than a week after England’s departure, New Zealand will host the current ICC Women’s T20 World Cup champions, Australia, for a limited-overs tour. They will play three T20Is followed by as many ODIs, the first of which begins on 28 March. All three T20Is will take place in Hamilton while Tauranga will host all the ODIs.

The first ODI will offer Meg Lanning’s team a chance to overtake Ricky Ponting’s record of consecutive victories in the format. They have currently equalled the mark with 21 wins in a row.

“We are very grateful to the New Zealand government for supporting and enabling these women’s tours and for creating an environment in which they can proceed,” said New Zealand Cricket’s chief executive David White. “It is great that New Zealand and the world will be able to see these two terrific women’s sides – Australia and England, in action against the White Ferns, and women’s cricket receiving the attention it deserves.

“And with the ICC Women’s World Cup to be hosted in New Zealand next summer, it is particularly important that teams are able to play and compete and develop their games ahead of such a significant tournament,” he added.


New Zealand v England series, 2021

February 23: First ODI, Hagley Oval, Christchurch
February 26: Second ODI, University of Otago Oval, Dunedin
February 28: Third ODI, University of Otago Oval, Dunedin
March 3: First T20I, Sky Stadium, Wellington
March 5: Second T20I, Eden Park, Auckland
March 7: Third T20I, Bay Oval, Tauranga

New Zealand v Australia series, 2021

March 28: First T20I, Seddon Park, Hamilton
March 30: Second T20I, Seddon Park, Hamilton
April 1: Third T20I, Seddon Park, Hamilton
April 4: First ODI, Bay Oval, Tauranga
April 7: Second ODI, Bay Oval, Tauranga
April 10: Third ODI, Bay Oval, Tauranga

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button