Throwback: When SL cricket fan Percy kissed Ajinkya Rahane, leaving Virat Kohli & Co. in splits

When SL fan kissed Ajinkya Rahane, leaving Virat Kohli & Co. in splits. Photo credits: Video grab&nbsp

Key Highlights

  • Sri Lankan cricket’s loyalist Percy Abeysekera left Virat Kohli & Co. in splits when he kissed Ajinkya Rahane on his cheeks
  • The incident took place during India’s 2015 tour of the Island nation for three Tests
  • India bounced back from a 1-0 deficit to win the three-match Test series 2-1 versus Sri Lanka during the tour

International cricket has, over the years, witnessed some true loyalists of the gentlemen’s game. Some of them are Sudhir Kumar Gautam, Larry the Leprechaun, Oli Broom, Percy Abeysekera, etc. 

As the game needs fans for its existence, these ardent followers of the sport have time and again made a mark with their presence at the stands. During India’s 2-1 Test series win versus Sri Lanka in 2015, in the island nation, Lankan cricket’s fan Percy entertained the tourists, Virat Kohli-led Team India with his quirky and joyful nature. 

During a rain break in a Test, of the three-match Test series, Percy was dancing along with skipper Kohli, with Rohit Sharma, Murali Vijay and the likes cheering for the two. At that time, Kohli asked Percy to kiss a calm and very shy Ajinkya Rahane. 

Rahane was sitting quietly when Percy came towards him and left him embarrassed by kissing on his cheeks. Here’s a video of the hilarious interaction between Rahane and Percy Abeysekera: 

Talking about the incident, Percy had told Mid-Day, “He (Rahane) was very shy and they all said ‘kiss him, kiss him’. They even brought him to me and I kissed him left, right and centre. That brought the house down. Kohli and Rohit were jumping and laughing uncontrollably.”

Speaking more about India’s 2015 tour, they had just commenced a new era in Test cricket under Kohli, with MS Dhoni retiring from the longest format in late 2014. The tour comprised three Tests, which India won 2-1 despite conceding a 1-0 lead following a defeat in the first Test at Galle. 

Currently, Kohli-led India are gearing up for the series opener of the four-match Test series versus England at home, with the first encounter set to kick off in Chennai from February 05. 

Team India squad for first two Tests: India squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (Vice-captain), KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), R Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button