Texas A&M Men’s Tennis wraps up play at TCU Invitational

FORT WORTH, Texas – Texas A&M men’s tennis picked up eight singles and two doubles wins on the final day of the TCU Invitational Thursday at the Bayard H. Friedman Tennis Center.

“I think our guys responded very well today,” head coach Steve Denton said. “We changed up some doubles teams and showed improvement there, while we did not win all of those matches we played significantly better on day two. We really picked it up singles, getting some big wins against a very good team. The attitude and effort were there today as we are getting acclimated to playing indoor tennis. We need to continue to improve to be successful over the next couple weeks against really good competition.”

No. 4 Valentin Vacherot picked up a ranked victory as he defeated TCU’s No. 123 Sander Jong 6-2, 6-2. No. 33 Carlos Aguilar, No. 110 Barnaby Smith and Pierce Rollins all picked up three-set wins while Raphael Perot, Guido Marson, Bjorn Thomson and No. 116 Noah Schachter won in straight sets.

In doubles action, A&M’s Austin Abbrat and Perot along with Pranav Kumar and Kenner Taylor picked up wins over duos from SMU.

The No. 11 Aggies return to the courts Tuesday in Oxford, Miss., with a non-conference indoor match against No. 17 Ole Miss at the Palmer/Salloum Tennis Center. First serve is set for 1 p.m. (CT) against the Rebels.


TCU Invitational

Bayard H. Friedman Tennis Center – FORT WORTH, Texas

Singles Competition

Day One

Kenner Taylor (TAMU) def. Max Kurzban (TCU) 7-5, 7-6

Tomas Jirousek (TCU) def. #33 Carlos Aguilar (TAMU) 6-2, 6-3

#123 Sander Jong (TCU) def. #13 Hady Habib (TAMU) 6-7, 6-2, 6-2

Juan Martin (TCU) def. Pierce Rollins (TAMU) 7-6, 6-3

Raphael Perot (TAMU) def. Eduardo Roldan (TCU) 7-6, 6-1

Liam Krall (SMU) def. Guido Marson (TAMU) 6-4, 6-4

Austin Abbrat (TAMU) def. Jan-Simon Vrbsky (SMU) 4-6, 7-6, 6-2

Julian Steinhausen (SMU) def. Pranav Kumar (TAMU) 6-4, 6-3

#110 Barnaby Smith (TAMU) def. Caleb Chakravarthi (SMU) 6-3, 6-3

Bjorn Thomson (TAMU) def. Juan Jose Bianchi (SMU) 6-3, 6-1

#4 Valentin Vacherot (TAMU) def. #116 Noah Schachter 6-3, 6-3

Raphael Perot (TAMU) def. Tomas Vaise (SMU) 3-6, 6-2, 7-6

Day Two

Raphael Perot (TAMU) def. Jordi Redelijk (SMU) 6-2, 6-1

Guido Marson (TAMU) def. Tomas Vaise (SMU) 6-1, 6-2

Juan Jose Bianchi (SMU) def. Kenner Taylor (TAMU) 6-4, 7-5

Bjorn Thomson (TAMU) def. Austin Abbrat (TAMU) 6-3, 6-2

#4 Valentin Vacherot (TAMU) def. #123 Sander Jong (TCU) 6-2, 6-2

#33 Carlos Aguilar (TAMU) def. Tadeas Paroulek (TCU) 5-7, 6-4, 6-0

#110 Barnaby Smith (TAMU) def. Juan Martin 1-6, 6-4, ret.

#116 Noah Schachter (TAMU) def. Max Kurzban (TCU) 6-2, 6-4

Pierce Rollins (TAMU) def. Pranav Kumar (TAMU) 6-2, 6-7, 6-4

Doubles Competition

Day One

#48 Carlos Aguilar / Bjorn Thomson (TAMU) def. #24 Tadeus Paroulek / Sander Jong (TCU) 7-5

Alastair Gray / Luc Fomba (TCU) def. Noah Schachter / Valentin Vacherot (TAMU) 6-1

Juan Martin / Tomas Jirousek (TCU) def. Hady Habib / Pierce Rollins (TAMU) 6-4

Pranav Kumar / Barnaby Smith (TAMU) def. Max Kurzban / Eduardo Roldan (TCU) 6-3

Guido Marson / Raphael Perot (TAMU) def. Kenner Taylor / Austin Abbrat (TAMU) 6-4

Liam Krall / Caleb Chakravarthi (SMU) def. Pranav Kumar / Barnaby Smith (TAMU) 7-6

Julian Steinhausen / Juan Jose Bianchi (SMU) def. Hady Habib / Pierce Rollins (TAMU) 6-3

Julian Steinhausen / Liam Krall (SMU) def. Noah Schachter / Valentin Vacherot (TAMU) 6-3

#48 Carlos Aguilar / Bjorn Thomson (TAMU) def. Tomas Vaise / Juan Jose Bianchi (SMU) 7-6

Day Two

#24 Sander Jong / Tadeas Paroulek (TCU) def. Valentin Vacherot / Barnaby Smith (TAMU) 6-4

Alastair Gray / Luc Fomba (TCU) def. #48 Carlos Aguilar / Bjorn Thomson (TAMU) 6-3

Max Kurzban / Juan Martin (TCU) def. Pierce Rollins / Noah Schachter (TAMU) 6-4

Austin Abbrat / Raphael Perot (TAMU) def. Caleb Chakravarthi (SMU) 7-6

Pranav Kumar / Kenner Taylor (TAMU) def. Juan Jose Bianchi / Tomas Vaise (SMU) 6-1


Visit for more information on Texas A&M men’s tennis. Fans can keep up to date with the A&M men’s tennis team on Facebook, Instagram, and on Twitter by following @AggieMTEN.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button