Sanjay’s ton takes Indian Gymkhana to Guzder League semifinal | Cricket News

NAGPUR: Indian Gymkhana and Medical Representative Cricket Club (MRCC) – who will face-off in semifinal on Sunday – were pitted against each other in their last league match Guzder League ‘A’ Division One-dayers on Friday.
Thanks to opener R Sanjay’s century, Indian Gymkhana earned a psychological edge over their last four opponents MRCC by posting a 56-run win on Friday. In other league matches, Eleven Star Cricket Club and Ministerial Services Sports Club (MSSC) posted easy wins to seal the semifinal berths.
Indian Gymkhana, despite losing two early wickets — both claimed by Aditya Thakare, recovered through fine knocks from Sanjay and skipper Mohit Kale (48, 54b, 6×4, 1×6). Sanjay went on to score another century (104, 123b, 8×4, 4×6) and in company of Azhar Sheikh (87, 87b, 3×4, 1×6) took Indian Gymkhana to position of strength.
MRCC lost quick wickets in the chase. At 69 for 5 in 15.2 overs — Raj Choudhary picking up three of those, things looked all over for MRCC. Apoorva Wankhade (69, 67b, 3×4, 4×6) and Mohit Raut (53, 65b, 3×4, 3×6) delayed the inevitable but MRCC folded on 222.
Anshuman Rath, the former Hong Kong international who has now shifted base to Vidarbha, scored a quickfire 138 (118b, 20×4, 1×6) helped MSSC pile up 316 for 7 and post a 146-run win over Advocate XI Cricket Club.
Indian Gymkhana 278 for 5 in 50 overs (R Sanjay 104, Azhar Sheikh 87, Mohit Kale 48; Aditya Thakare 3-54) bt Medical Representative Cricket Club (MRCC) 222 all out in 44.4 overs (Apoorva Wankhade 69, Mohit Raut 53, Siddhesh Wath 30; Raj Choudhary 4-32, Himanshu Joshii 2-39) by 56 runs;
Ministerial Services Sports Club (MSSC) 316 for 7 in 50 overs (Anshuman Rath 138, Yash Rathod 43; Nachiket Parande 3-48) bt Advocate XI 170 all out in 38.3 overs (Abhishek Pathak 34; Suraj Rai 4-16, Akshay Wakhare 2-20, Mandar Mahale 2-44) by 146 runs.
Eleven Star Cricket Club 247 for 8 in 50 overs (Faiz Fazal 65, Akash Kumar 52; Yash Thakur 2-46) bt Lipton Cricket Club 185 all out in 42 overs (Kushal Pimpalkar 48; Harsh Dubey 5-28) by 62 runs.
Reshimbag Gymkhana 261 for 9 in 50 overs (Mohanish Kurve 60, Praful Hinge 46; Yash Kadam 3-36, Suniket Bingewar 2-57) bt Navniketan Cricket Club 171 all out in 40.2 overs (Akshay Agarwal 44, Aditya Sarvate 31; Aiddhesh Dandewar 5-32, Praful Hinge 2-14) by 90 runs.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button