Red Bull Campus Cricket National Finals 2020: Day 1- Round-up


Red Bull Cricket National Finals. (Photo Source: Red Bull)

The much-awaited cricket championship comprising different colleges of India, the Red Bull Campus Cricket 2020 kicked off its national final stage in the city of Nawabs, Lucknow. The year 2020 marked the ninth anniversary of the much-anticipated league, and 32 cities put their best foot forward to mark their presence in the season.

The league stage matches of the tournament will see the light of the day from 30th November – 2nd December. The semi-finals and finals will get underway on the 3rd and 4th of December at Ekana International Stadium Lucknow. The day one of the league stages witnessed the best excitement and spirit from the cricketers across various famed colleges. Let’s take a quick glance at day 1 results.

The first match took place between New LJ college Ahmedabad and DAV College Jalandhar. DAV marked its dominance by bagging the match by six wickets. While showing with the willows first, New LJ was able to put up 129/9 runs on the board as Harvik Desai (61 off 44) turned out to be in fine form with the bat. While chasing the target, Jasvir Singh played a sublime knock of 40 runs and led DAV home. Harit Sachar was adjudged as the man of the match for naming four scalps by conceding just 11 runs.

The second match saw Loyola College Chennai and SOA University Bhubaneshwar locking horns with each other. It turned to be a high scoring match that ultimately saw Loyola with the winner’s cap. While chasing the decent target of 166 runs by SOA University, Loyola clinched the match by four wickets, and Raghvendra was named as the player of the match for his all-round performance. He came with a decent knock of 24 runs off 22 balls and registered the figures as 4-0-25-2 with the ball in his hand.

The third match of the day got underway between SS Jain Subodh College Jaipur and DAVV College Indore. The event turned out to be a one-sided affair where when DAVV got bundled up on just 100 runs while chasing the target of 159 runs set by SS Jain college. Jaipur won the contest by 59 runs and Rajveer Singh was declared as the player of the match for his terrific knock of 39 balls 52 along with clinching two wickets.

The fourth and final match of the day saw Jain University Bangalore and YBN College Ranchi locking horns against each other. Ranchi won the toss and decided to bat first. They set the target of 145 runs on the board for the opponents to chase. While chasing an ordinary target, Bangalore could only touch the 132-run mark and handed the victory to Ranchi by 13 runs. Anurag Sanjay was named as the player of the match who played a prolific knock of 63 runs off 42 balls.

Brief scores

New LJ college Ahmedabad vs DAV college Jalandhar

Ahmedabad: 129/9 (Harvik Desai- 61 of 44, Vishal Jayswal- 2/19)
Jalandhar: 133/4 (Jasvir Singh- 40 of 24, Harit Sachar- 4/11)

Jalandhar won by six wickets

Loyola College Chennai vs SOA University Bhubaneshwar

Bhubaneshwar: 166/4 (Sidhant Jena- 58 of 31, Kartik Biswal- 2/22)
Chennai: 169/6 (Surya Shri- 39 of 35, Raghvendar- 2/33)

Chennai won by four wickets

SS Jain Subodh College Jaipur vs DAVV College Indore

Jaipur: 159/8 (Bharat Sharma- 59 of 66, Aashish Indoria- 3/17)
Indore: 100/10 ( Priyanshu- 39 of 44, Pankaj Patel- 4/20)

Jaipur won by 59 runs.

YBN college Ranchi vs Jain college Bangalore

Ranchi: 145/7 (Anurag Sanjay- 63 of 42, Sushant Singh- 2/15)
Bangalore: 132/6 (Omar A- 38 of 22, Advith- 2/19)

Ranchi won by 13 runs.


Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button