Recent Match Report – Australia vs India 2nd T20I 2020


Toss India chose to bowl vs Australia

India’s captain Virat Kohli chose to send Australia in to bat in the second T20I at the SCG, with Matthew Wade standing in for the injured Aaron Finch as captain.

Wade stood in for Finch for what is likely to be a one game commission, chosen ahead of Steven Smith in what had loomed as a possible occasion for him to lead Australia for the first time since his Newlands ban in 2018.

Another change has Wade moving up the order to open alongside Marcus Stoinis – the role he has filled with distinction for the Hobart Hurricanes in the Big Bash League – rather than batting in the middle order as he did during the hosts’ loss of the opening T20I in Canberra on Friday night.

Australia are also missing Mitchell Starc after he left the squad for compassionate reasons due to a family illness, and Josh Hazlewood was also left out, creating opportunities for Daniel Sams and Andrew Tye.

Apart from starting with Yuzvendra Chahal in the XI this time for Ravindra Jadeja, India made two other changes of bringing in Shreyas Iyer for Manish Pandey, who has an elbow niggle, and Shardul Thakur for the rested Mohammed Shami.

Australia: 1 Marcus Stoinis, 2 Matthew Wade (capt & wk), 3 Moises Henriques, 4 D’Arcy Short, 5 Glenn Maxwell, 6 Steven Smith, 7 Daniel Sams, 8 Sean Abbott, 9 Mitch Swepson, 10 Andrew Tye, 11 Adam Zampa

India: 1 Shikhar Dhawan, 2 KL Rahul (wk), 3 Virat Kohli (capt), 4 Shreyas Iyer, 5 Sanju Samson, 6 Hardik Pandya, 7 Washington Sundar, 8 Deepak Chahar, 9 Shardul Thakur, 10 Yuzvendra Chahal, 11 T Natarajan


Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button