Power Cup Cricket tournament inaugurated

Dignitaries posing for a group photograph during inaugural ceremony of Power Cup Cricket tournament at New Delhi.

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

JAMMU, Feb 20: Power Cup -2021), a T-20 cricket tournament was inaugurated by Alok Kumar, Secretary (Power), Government of India at NMAKP Sports Complex, Jamia Milia Islamia New Delhi, today.
The tournament is being organised by NHPC Limited under the leadership of AK Singh, CMD wherein various teams of Power Sector CPSUs and Ministry of Power are taking part.
Speaking on the occasion, Alok Kumar, Secretary (Power) Government of India extended its good wishes to all the participating teams of the tournament. He further said that sports provide an excellent platform for personality development and building up team spirit and camaraderie amongst Ministry of Power and Central Power Sector PSUs.
In his welcome address the CMD NHPC also extended his gratitude to Secretary (Power), Government of India for sparing time from his busy schedule and coming here to encourage all the players taking part in the tournament.
He informed that the tournament is seeing participation of eight teams.
The inaugural match of the tournament was played Ministry of Power between NHPC. The match was won by Ministry of Power by two wickets. The winning team scored 99 in 19 overs whereas the opponent team all out at 98 runs in 20 overs.
The 2nd match of the league was won by NTPC against POSOCO with four wickets. The winning team scored 113 runs in stipulated 20 overs with loss of six wickets and the opponent team was bundled out at 112 runs and lost the match by 77 runs, whereas PFC won the with seven wickets by defeating REC who managed to score 92 runs.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button