NASCAR Unveils Convoluted All-Star Race Format

Lower horsepower.
Maximum downforce.
More stages.
Inversions and random draws.

That’s the most succinct way to summarize the race format for the NASCAR Cup Series All-Star Race when it moves to Texas Motor Speedway on June 13. The race winner will collect $900,000, and an additional $100,000 will be presented to the fastest pit crew during a compulsory stop near the end of the race.

The 100-lap showdown has been split into six segments with the lineup for each stage being determined by random draws or various inversion procedures.

Additionally, NASCAR will use a competition package not utilized since the 2018 All-Star Race at Charlotte Motor Speedway, a formula that will further reduce horsepower on the intermediate length track from 550HP to 510HP.

It will do so by reducing the 59/64th of an inch tapered spacer to the 57/64th used at Daytona and

Cup Series engines can produce over 900HP unrestricted, but NASCAR has cut horsepower to various degrees using a tapered spacer since the 2015 season.

This content is imported from YouTube. You may be able to find the same content in another format, or you may be able to find more information, at their web site.


– The starting lineup will be set by a random draw.
– Segment 1: 15 laps. After this round, the field will be inverted starting anywhere from the eighth through 12th positions, to be selected by a random draw.
– Segment 2: 15 laps, with entire field inverted after this segment.
– Segment 3: 15 laps, again the field will be inverted starting anywhere from the eighth through 12th positions, to be selected by a random draw after this round.
– Segment 4: 15 laps.
– Segment 5: 30 laps. The lineup for this round will be determined by cumulative finish from the first four rounds, with the best cumulative finisher starting from the pole. All cars must enter pit road for a mandatory four-tire pit stop during this round. The crew with the fastest stop will pocket $100,000.
– Segment 6: 10 laps. Cars will line up according to their finishing position from the previous round for the final segment.

Only green flag laps will count for the All-Star Race.

A total of 17 drivers have already clinched All-Star berths: Christopher Bell, Ryan Blaney, Alex Bowman, Kurt Busch, Kyle Busch, William Byron, Cole Custer, Austin Dillon, Chase Elliott, Denny Hamlin, Kevin Harvick, Brad Keselowski, Kyle Larson, Joey Logano, Michael McDowell, Ryan Newman and Martin Truex Jr. The criteria for eligibility includes NASCAR Cup Series race winners in 2020-21 and full-time drivers who are either past All-Star winners or past Cup Series champions.

The rest of the field will be completed in the NASCAR Open qualifying race (June 13, 6 p.m. ET on FS1, MRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) and the All-Star Fan Vote. The Open will be run in three segments — 20 laps, 20 laps and a 10-lap shootout — with segment winners and the overall winner advancing to the All-Star main event.

A fan vote will determine the final driver in the field who is otherwise ineligible.

“Texas has always felt like an All-Star market; it is a big-event market and Texas Motor Speedway thrives under a bright spotlight,” said NASCAR executive VP and chief racing development officer Steve O’Donnell. “The entire Speedway Motorsports and TMS team has done an incredible job embracing and elevating this event, creating a must-see show for fans at the track and watching from home on FS1.”

What do you think about the All-Star Race format and rules package? Tell us in the comments section below.

This content is created and maintained by a third party, and imported onto this page to help users provide their email addresses. You may be able to find more information about this and similar content at

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button