Deepti Sharma’s ton goes in vain as Bengal lose to Railways | Cricket News

KOLKATA: Another great show from Deepti Sharma went in vain as Bengal lost to Railways by six wickets in the second semifinal of the Women’s Senior One-day meet at the Saurashtra Cricket Stadium in Rajkot on Thursday.
Deepti, whose 94 runs and three for 40, helped Bengal get past Madhya Pradesh in the quarterfinal, again led from the front after skipper Rumeli Dhar chose to bat on winning the toss.

Bengal got off to a good start with Mita Paul and Sharma putting up 86 for the opening wicket from just 20 overs. The latter played his shots almost from the word go reaching her half-century off 63 balls only. Paul meanwhile was run out for 38.
Bengal suffered another jolt when their skipper Dhar was run out in the 24th over. But young Richa Ghosh once again played a responsible innings putting up a 62-run partnership with Sharma. The Siliguri girl hit a quickfire 33 off 36 balls only. However, Bengal’s run-rate slowed down after Ghosh’s departure with only 24 runs coming in the next seven overs.
Bengal reached 200 in the 45th over and Sharma brought up her century from 139 balls. Prativa Rana’s late onslaught of 30 that came off just 18 balls helped Bengal score 50 runs in the last 5.1 overs and finish at 250 for six. Sharma eventually fell to Ekta Bist for a well-made 113 from 148 balls.
Railways made a brisk start with openers MD Thirushkamini and Punam Raut putting on 64 runs from just 10.1 overs. After Thirushkamini departed, Raut added another 66 runs for the second wicket with Nuzhat Parween. The opener completed her fifty from 66 balls before retiring hurt with cramps for 69 off 90 balls.
But Railways were on the victory path by then as Sneh Rana, Mithali Raj, Mona Meshram and Swagatika Rath played their part in taking Railways home losing four wickets and with six overs to spare.
Railways will play Jharkhand in the final on Sunday.
Brief scores: Bengal 250/6 in 50 ovs (Deepti Sharma 113; Ekta Bisht 2-61). Railways 254/4 in 44 ovs (Punam Raut 69, MD Thirushkamini 43). Rlys won by 6 wkts

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button