New Zealand

CAF Champions League: CS Sfaxien, Kaizer Chiefs advance to next qualifying round


TOPSHOT – This picture shows the trophy prior to the draw of the Confederation of African Football’s (CAF) Champions league at the Ritz Carlton Hotel in Cairo on December 28, 2018. (Photo by MOHAMED EL-SHAHED / AFP) (Photo credit should read MOHAMED EL-SHAHED/AFP/Getty Images)

The latest round of matches in the CAF Champions League preliminary first round on Saturday astonishingly saw nearly all the home teams advance to the next round.

FILE PHOTO: A photo of the CAF Champions League trophy. (Photo credit MOHAMED EL-SHAHED/AFP/Getty Images)

2006 runners-up CS Sfaxien of Tunisia beat 10-man Mlandege of Zanzibar 3-1 to progress with an emphatic 8-1 aggregate score. Firas Chaouat and Kingsley Eduwo scored the winning goals after Sabri Mzee’s penalty had cancelled out Chris Kouakou’s opening goal.

A late equaliser by Yano earned Petro Atletico (Angola) a 2-2 draw at home to Akonangui F.C. of Equatorial Guinea. The Angolans, despite winning the first leg 1-0 away from home, were heading out of the competition on the away goals rule. However, that strike was enough to see them through 3-2 on aggregate.

Tanzanian giants Simba and South Africa’s Kaizer Chiefs secured 0-0 draws at home to Nigeria’s Plateau United and Cameroon’s Bamenda respectively to both go through 1-0 on aggregate. Nkana F.C. of Zambia also registered a similar result against Bantu of Lesotho advancing on a similar aggregate score.

Stade Malien of Mali went through 5-1 on aggregate with a 3-0 win against Ashanti GB of Guinea. Meanwhile, Platinum F.C. of Zimbabwe and Bouenguidi of Gabon defeated Costa do Sol of Mozambique and Forest Rangers of Zambia 2-0 respectively for 4-1 and 2-0 aggregate wins.

The sole victory by an away side on the day was a 2-0 win by Niger’s SONIDEP against Mogadishu City of Somalia. A goal each by Yahaya Murtala and Ibrahim Mukhtar completed a 4-0 aggregate win over the Somalis.

Another set of matches in the first preliminary round are due to be played on December 6 featuring two-time winners Enyimba F.C. (Nigeria) and Asante Kotoko (Ghana).


Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button