5 possible first-time winners in 2021

Sheldon Creed and Zane Smith, GMS Racing, NASCAR (Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images)

The NASCAR Truck Series is set to begin the 2021 season at Daytona International Speedway. Here are five drivers who could become first-time winners this year.

The 2021 NASCAR Truck Series season is nearly upon us! The season is scheduled to begin this Friday, February 12 with the NextEra Energy 250 at Daytona International Speedway.

Once the 15-race regular season concludes, 10 drivers will qualify for the playoffs. Those 10 drivers will compete over two rounds and six races to advance to the Championship 4 race at Phoenix Raceway. Finally, on Friday, November 5, the 2021 Truck Series champion will be crowned following the Lucas Oil 150. All in all, there is one less race on the Truck Series schedule this year — 22 instead of 23.

The Truck Series is set to race twice on dirt tracks and four times on road courses following multiple schedule changes. Eldora Speedway will not host the series, but drivers are still set to race on dirt at Bristol Motor Speedway and Knoxville Raceway.

Truck Series drivers will make left and right-hand turns four times this year, beginning with the second race of the season at Daytona International Speedway road course. That race replaced the race at Homestead-Miami Speedway after NASCAR canceled the Auto Club Speedway race weekend for the Cup Series and Xfinity Series due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

In the regular season, the Truck Series is also scheduled to visit Circuit of the Americas and Watkins Glen International. Finally, Canadian Tire Motorsport Park is the final road course venue on the calendar, hosting the second race in the round of 10.

With these and more schedule changes to the Truck Series schedule, who are five drivers who could win for the first time in their Truck Series careers this year?

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button